How to stop adobe from updating

Like Adobe Reader X, an installation of Adobe Reader XI can check for updates automatically.

If you ask it to stop downloading and cancel all updates, it will run again after the next reboot when you launch an Adobe app.

Here’s how to disable the Reader XI update checks so that your end users don’t see update notices and can’t manually install updates.

This tutorial is intended for systems administrators that are using some kind of systems management product for updating 3rd party software like SCCM, Landesk, etc.

By default, an installation of Adobe Reader X will check for updates and then will prompt the end user to install the update whether or not the user has Admin rights.

In a small environment, this may not be a problem, but in a larger environment, this can generate a lot of unnecessary support requests when a user that doesn’t have Admin rights gets a UAC prompt that wants Admin credentials.

Leave a Reply